Our management team

A wide range of highly experienced insurance and business professionals

Board Members - Neon Group & Neon Underwriting

  • mrdr1223

    Martin Reith

    Group Chairman & CEO
    Non-Executive Director, Neon Underwriting


    Martin is a highly experienced executive with over 30 years in the insurance business. His previous roles include Founder and CEO of Ascot, CEO of XL Capital’s Insurance operations in London and MD at Brockbank Group plc. Martin has also held various non-executive roles, including at AmWINS Group Inc. and Securis Investment Partners LLP.

  • tbutt2

    Theo Butt

    CEO, Neon Underwriting


    An experienced underwriting leader, Theo joined Neon in September 2018, moving from Ascot Underwriting. At Ascot he led the Property Underwriting business from 2009 and was Head of Non-Marine within their Executive Underwriting team from 2011 onwards. Prior to this, Theo held a variety of roles at Marsh and JLT.

  • matthew2washington

    Matthew Washington

    Group COO
    & Managing Director, Neon Underwriting


    Matthew is an experienced insurance executive with over 15 years’ experience in the Lloyd’s marketplace. His previous roles include Chief Operating Officer at CV Starr, running a Lloyd's market consultancy, and a variety of Executive roles at Ascot, including Board roles of Ascot’s US and Asian subsidiaries.

  • alastair003

    Alastair McKay

    Group General Counsel


    Alastair has over 16 years’ experience working as a legal and compliance professional. Previous roles include UK General Counsel at Aspen, where he was also a member of their UK management team, and legal roles including 5 years at Baker & McKenzie. Alastair was called to the Bar in 1999 and qualified as a Solicitor in 2003.

  • deep0nsg

    Deepon Sen Gupta

    Group Chief Strategy Officer


    Prior to joining Neon in January 2016, Deepon was an investment banker who specialised in non-life and specialty (re)insurance. Most recently, he was a Vice President within the Financial Institutions Group at Macquarie Capital and he previously held FIG M&A roles within Fox-Pitt Kelton and Dresdner Kleinwort.

  • darren3lednor

    Darren Lednor

    Chief Underwriting Officer


    Darren has been working in the insurance industry for 20+ years, covering underwriting, risk management and actuarial in both the London and Bermuda markets. Darren was previously Active Underwriter for Ariel Syndicate 1910 and CRO of Ariel Re, Underwriter at Arrow Syndicate, and held broking positions at Aon Benfield.


    Sharon Long

    Claims Director


    Sharon has 25+ years’ insurance experience, with prior roles including Claims Director at XL Catlin and leadership positions at Catlin Underwriting Limited, including Board roles. Sharon has also held technical claims roles at AIG, AXA Global Risks and Lloyd’s of London, and is an elected member of the LMACC.

  • ollyr003

    Olly Reeves

    Chief Risk Officer


    Olly has 19 years’ experience in risk management, most recently as Head of Risk Management at Lloyd’s of London. Olly started his career at EY and then spent over 12 years at Lloyd’s during which time he was responsible for their risk function as well as supervising the syndicates and managing agents in the market.

  • richard003heppell

    Richard Heppell

    Chief Financial Officer


    Richard has over 30 years’ experience in the market and extensive experience of supporting the growth and development of Lloyd’s businesses. Prior to joining Neon, his roles included Chief Financial Officer at MS Amlin Underwriting and a range of senior corporate finance roles at QBE.


  • Joseph (Jeff) Consolino

    Non-Executive Chairman

    With over 25 years’ financial services experience, Jeff has served as EVP and CFO of AFG since 2013. He also currently serves as a Director of AmWINS Group and on the board of National Interstate Corporation. Before joining AFG, Jeff was President and CFO of Validus Holdings.

  • Ian Martin

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Holdings

    Ian is an experienced senior executive with over 30 years in business. His previous roles include Senior Independent Non-Executive Director at Ascot and MD at Brockbank Group plc prior to its sale to XL Capital. Ian has also held a range of roles in the media sector, is Chairman of Touchstar Plc, and was CEO of Avesco.

  • Michael Wade

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Underwriting

    With 30 years’ experience at Lloyd’s, Michael is a Senior Advisor to the Cabinet Office, previously serving as Crown Representative for Insurance. Michael was recently Exec Chairman of Besso Insurance Group and also served on the Council and Committee of Lloyd’s.

  • Simon Hayes

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Underwriting

    Simon has 20+ years’ of regulated financial services experience and is currently Chairman of Peel Hunt (UK corporate finance / stockbroking boutique). Simon has a broad range of commercial, corporate finance and business development experience.

  • Tom Hulst

    Non-Executive Director – Neon Bermuda

    Tom has 20 years’ (re)insurance experience, having held senior positions with both US and Bermuda (re)insurers. Most recently Tom served as Chief Executive of Ariel Re and is a member of the Executive Committee of The Association of Bermuda International Companies.

  • Roy Fellowes

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Bermuda

    Roy has spent 30+ years in the Bermuda insurance market, is on the Bermuda Insurance Advisory Committee, director of the Association of Bermuda International Companies and member of Bermuda’s Chamber of Commerce. He was previously CEO of HSBC's global insurance management business.

  • Mauro Iguera

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Italy

    Mauro has over 30 years' experience with major brokers, Lloyd’s Underwriters and P&I Clubs. He is currently CEO of Cambiaso Risso Holdings, Cambiaso Risso Marine SpA and Cambiaso Risso Shipping Agency.

  • Richard Tee

    Non-Executive Director - Neon Sapphire

    Richard is currently CEO of the Heritage Group and has extensive experience of directing insurance companies, intermediaries and underwriters in a number of jurisdictions. He is former Chairman of the Association of Guernsey Insurers and the Guernsey International Business Association.

* Roles announced 21/12/18 subject to the relevant Lloyd’s and regulatory approvals

Get In Touch

Call us on: +44 (0)207 488 7700 or send us an email at: hello@neonuw.com
Alternatively, to receive more updates from us follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter